//
you're reading...
Life

E-piphany

I re-watched Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind the other day. Fantastic movie. Kate Winslet is gorgeous, and Jim Carey is strangely attractive. Never thought that would come out of my mouth. The film illustrates situations, experiences, and feelings that everyone has felt. Painfully relatable.

Next day, driving to my parents house, Gotye’s Somebody That I Used To Know starts playing on the radio.

Bam! One and one make two! Gotye’s Somebody That I Used To Know is a 4:04 minute synopsis of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind! Hell, Gotye quotes Joel’s (Jim Carey) letter about their moments on the Charles River,

“Like when you said you felt so happy you could die”

Both the film and the song deal with the pain of a break up. They demonstrate the hurt experienced by both parties when a relationship is moving in a bad direction.

Sometimes I think of my Ex, in fact I think about him a lot. I know I should work on doing things for myself and with my friends and family, but sometimes memories of him just pop up. While this is something I can’t control, what I can control is my conscious actions. I am not going to give in anymore. I am not going to give in and check his Facebook. Each day I go without checking his page, I am drawing a star on my calendar. I began this on Christmas, and have a star next to each day so far.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

